Loading Events

Jing Jing Tsong presents ‘Fake Chinese Sounds’

Jing Jing Tsong presents ‘Fake Chinese Sounds’

7d3832ce7bd4cfff3b27e3f0eba28d4f

Details

Date:
May 1
Time:
6:00 pm - 7:30 pm
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/jing-jing-tsong-presents-fake-chinese-sounds-tickets-873006344477

Venue

Third Place Books
5041 Wilson Ave S
Seattle, WA 98118 United States
+ Google Map
A Taiwanese American girl navigates identity, bullying, and the messy process of learning to be comfortable in her skin.

A middle-grade graphic novel about a Taiwanese American girl navigating identity, bullying, and the messy process of learning to be comfortable in her skin.

Third Place Books is excited to welcome illustrator Jing Jing Tsong to our Lake Forest Park store for an interactive presentation of her new middle-grade graphic novel, Fake Chinese Sounds. This event is free and open to the public. Readers of all ages welcome!

For important updates, registration is highly recommended in advance. This event will include a public signing and time for audience Q&A. Sustain our author series by purchasing a copy of the featured book!

Click here for more about our COVID-19 policies for in-person events.

Having trouble registering? See Eventbrite’s troubleshooting FAQ here.

Tickets:

This event is free to attend. Registration is required in advance.

About Fake Chinese Sounds. . .

Between homework, studying, and Chinese school, Měi Yīng’s summer is shaping up to be a boring one. Her only bright spots are practice with her soccer team, the Divas, and the time spent with her năi nai, who is visiting from Taiwan. Although Měi Yīng’s Mandarin isn’t the best and Năi Nai doesn’t speak English, they find other ways to connect, like cooking guōtiē together and doing tai chi in the mornings.

By the end of the summer, Měi Yīng is sad to see Năi Nai go—she’s the com­plete opposite of Měi Yīng serious professor mother—but excited to start fifth grade. Until new kid Sid starts making her the butt of racist jokes. Her best friend, Kirra, says to ignore him, but does everyone else’s silence about the harassment mean they’re also ignoring Sid . . . or her? As Sid’s bullying fuels Měi Yīng’s feelings of invisibility, she must learn to reclaim her identity and her voice.

Perfect for fans of American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang, The Legend of Auntie Po by Shing Yin Khor, Measur­ing Up by Lily LaMotte, and The New Kid by Jerry Craft.

Jing Jing Tsong is a New York Times bestselling illustrator who has worked on many picture books such as the Hawaiian Legends for Little Ones series, Aloha Zoo, A Small Bucket of Blessings, and more. Past projects have included the United State Postal Service Winter Fun Forever stamps and Lunar New Year posters for McDonald’s. Her images are a digital collage of color, traditional printmaking techniques, and pattern. When not growing kale or surfing, Jing Jing spends her time translating the world through her words and pictures. Find her at jingjingtsong.com.

About Third Place Books

Founded in 1998 in Lake Forest Park, Washington, Third Place Books is dedicated to the creation of a community around books and the ideas inside them. With locations in Lake Forest Park and Seattle’s Ravenna and Seward Park neighborhoods, Third Place Books is proud to serve the entire Seattle metro area. Learn more about their event series at thirdplacebooks.com/events.