Loading Events

Emerald City Music: Oboe/Oboe

Emerald City Music: Oboe/Oboe



February 10
7:30 pm
Event Categories:


Kenneth J. Minnaert Center Main Stage
2011 Mottman Rd. SW
Olympia, WA 98512 United States
View Venue Website

Emerald City Music presents two superstar oboists in a show unveiling the oboe’s versatility, from baroque to a modern world-premiere by Ghanaian-American composer Fred Onovwerosouke.

Experience the unique versatility of the oboe – a traditionally solo instrument – as a duo. The program was created with two specific super star oboists in mind: returning artist, James Austin Smith and Emerald City Music debut artist, Titus Underwood (winner of the Sphinx Medal of Excellence). The program explores the evolution of time with pieces written for the oboe – from the baroque era to classical, mid 20th century, and finally to the sounds of 2023. The sound of the oboes is interjected with a light hearted and virtuosic piece by Mark O’Connor for Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass. The program features a world premiere by Fred Onovwerosuoke commissioned by Emerald City Music, written for two solo oboes and a string quintet. The American composer who was born in Ghana of Nigerian parents writes music that bears influences from Africa, the Caribbean and the American Deep South. This instrumentation that features two oboes as the solo instruments is extremely rare and the works with this configuration were only popular in the baroque era. The program will feature one of these works, Albinoni’s Concerto, published in 1722. These two works that span over three centuries bookend this performance.

Tomaso ALBINONI: Concert for Two Oboes in F Major, Op. 9, No. 3 (1722)
Marina DRANISHNIKOVA: Poem for Oboe and Piano (1953)
Mark O’CONNOR: String Quartet (2019)
– interval –
Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART: Oboe Quartet in F Major, K370 (1781)
Fred ONOVWEROSUOKE: New Work for Two Solo Oboes and String Quintet (2023 ECM Commission and World Premiere)

Titus Underwood, oboe
James Austin Smith, oboe
Kristin Lee, violin
Ayane Kozasa, viola
Saeunn Thorsteindottir, cello
Rachel Calin, bass
Oksana Ejokina, piano & harpsichord


Emerald City Music